Our governance

Meet our council members and senior staff.

Our governance

Meet our council members and senior staff.

Our Council Members

Our Council Members are all volunteers who give their time and expertise to the management of SSAFA. They have ultimate responsibility for directing SSAFA's affairs and ensuring we are solvent, well-run and that we meet our objectives.

National Chairman

Lieutenant General (retd) Sir Gary Coward KBE CB

National Vice Chairman
Wing Commander (retd) Kirsty Bushell

Honorary Treasurer
Mr David Rowe

Council Members
Mr James Carleton
Commodore (retd) Peter Cowling
Warrant Officer Class 1 Glenn Haughton
Mr David McCorkell
Lieutenant Colonel (retd) Graham Meacher
Mr Robert Murphy
Air Vice-Marshal (retd) Charles Ness
Mrs Sarah Rutherford-Jones
Mr David Singletary
Ms Evelyn Strouts
Dr Diana Wood

Our Executive team


Lieutenant General (retd) Sir Andrew Gregory KBE CB

Chief of Staff and Director of People and Organisational Development
Ian Hicks

Director of Finance
Simon Blum

Director of Fundraising
Jonathan Sandall

Director of Health and Social Care
Dr David Williams

Director of Marketing and Communications
Lisa Shattock

Director of Strategy
Liz Price

Director of Volunteer Operations
Julie McCarthy